Situated 15km from Quimper, Landudal comes from the word "lann" hermitage and from Saint Tudual, formerly Tutual. Landudal became a parish in 1825 and in 1901 the commune of Landudal was created.
Church of Our Lady of Populo
Former chapel chosen for the parish worship service, while Saint Tugdual was the church of the former trève.
The church of Our Lady of Populo dates from the 16th century. Our Lady of Populo was built in 1539. Apart from the bell tower, and probably the nave dating from the 18th century, the building thus belongs to the 16th century.
The building is in the flamboyant Gothic style. The church has many statues from the 15th and 16th centuries. The church has been listed as a "historic monument" since 4 March 1935.
Saint Tugdual's chapel - Inventory sheet
The chapel of Saint Tugdual, built in the 16th century. The Latin cross-shaped chapel is the former church of the Trevial.
It was restored in 1706 after the gable collapsed. The bells date from 1634 and 1710. Numerous polychrome wooden and stone statues adorn the interior of the church, making it a particularly rich building.
Inside, one can discover a whale bone brought back by Yves de Kerguélen during one of his voyages.
The gîte d'étape
Housed in a former presbytery, the Landudal stopover gîte is the starting point for outdoor excursions, on foot, by bike or mountain bike. Many hiking trails start from the gîte.
The gîte is located close to the shops and welcomes you in a warm atmosphere with facilities adapted to hikers.
Open all year round, the Landudal gîte has 13 places and is adapted for people with reduced mobility. It is composed of 2 rooms with 2 beds (one of which is adapted for People with Reduced Mobility) and 3 rooms with 3 beds.