History of Guengat
Contrary to what the literal translation from Breton might suggest, Guengat (gwenn gad) does not mean "white hare". Guengat is said to derive its name from the Breton words "gwenved" (blessed) and "kad" (fight).
The parish of Guengat was created at the expense of Plonéis and Plogonnec. As early as 1203, mention is made of the castle of Guengat, called "Les Guengat". This castle, situated on a hillock to the north of the town, is now in ruins. It was the birthplace of the De Guengat family.
During the wars of the League, Jacques II de Guengat took the side of King Henry IV: the League of Quimper besieged the castle in March 1591. Jacques de Guengat was made a knight of the Order of Saint-Michel on 29 April 1603.
Heritage of Guengat
The church of Saint Fiacre dates from the 15th century and was partially rebuilt after the bell tower fell in the 18th century. It is a listed monument.
The chapel of Saint Brigitte is an 18th century building. The three-crossed calvary in the church's plenum dates from the 15th century.
The fountain dates from 1666. As for the manor of Saint Alouarn, it dates from the 16th and 17th centuries.
[Click here to discover the inventory sheet of the Saint-Fiacre Church].
Natural Heritage of Guengat
Saint Brigitte walking trail. It is an 8km walk without difficulty along the old railway line. It allows you to discover the chapel in its green setting.
Guengat offers 3 short walks:
- the tour of the town (n°1): 3km
- Around the chapel of Saint Brigitte (n°2): 3.9km
- Between the base and the greenway (n°3): 5km