Breton Departmental Museum

The Breton departmental museum

Founded in Quimper in 1845, the Société archéologique du Finistère decided the following year to create a museum and began to build its collections. These were to bring together remarkable elements from all over Finistère: objects unearthed by archaeological prospecting, statuary or monumental fragments saved from the destruction of buildings, etc.

Since 1911, the Breton departmental museum has been housed in the Palais des Évêques de Cornouaille, the most remarkable monument in Quimper after the cathedral to the south of which it is built. Two wings frame the Tower, built for Claude De Rohan (1507), one of the most beautiful architectural examples of the Renaissance in Brittany.
It was one of the first museums in France, from 1860-1870, to take an interest in regional ethnography and popular arts. The collection that began then, and still continues, makes this museum the main conservatory of the history, ethnography and regional arts of Finistère.


Breton Departmental Museum
1, rue du roi Gradlon - 29000 Quimper
Tel: 02 98 95 21 60 - Fax: 02 98 95 89 69
Site : http://musee-breton.finistere.fr


Opening hours

September to June:
Tuesday to Friday from 9.30am to 5.30pm
Saturday and Sunday from 2pm to 5.30pm
Closed on Mondays and public holidays (except 8 May, 14 July and 15 August)
July and August:
Every day from 10am to 7pm


Rates

Prices vary according to the exhibition and the nature of the activity, please ask at the reception desk

Full price : 5€ / 7€
Reduced rate 3€ / 4€ (groups of 10 people or more - Finistère Passport)
Free of charge Under 26s, students, jobseekers, disabled people
Free at weekends from October to May
Activities From €1.50 to €8, depending on the activity (guided tour, workshop, event, etc.)

Musée départemental breton

Le musée départemental breton

Fondée à Quimper dès 1845, la Société archéologique du Finistère décida dès l’année suivante la création de la création d’un musée dont elle commença à former les collections. Celles-ci devaient rassembler les éléments remarquables provenant de tout le térritoire finistérien : objets mis au jour par les prospections archéologiques, statuaire ou fragments monumentaux sauvés de la destruction d’édifices…

Le musée départemental breton est installé depuis 1911 dans le Palais des Evêques de Cornouaille, le plus remarquable monument de Quimper après la cathédrale au sud de laquelle il est bâti. Deux ailes encadrent la Tour, construite pour Claude De Rohan (1507), l’un des plus beaux exemples architecturaux de la Renaissance en Bretagne.
Il fut l’un des premiers en France, dès les années 1860-1870, à s’intéresser à l’ethnographie régionale et aux arts populaires. La collecte qui débuta alors, et qui se poursuit encore, fait de ce musée le principal conservatoire de l’histoire, de l’ethnographie et des arts régionaux du Finistère.


Musée départemental breton
1, rue du roi Gradlon – 29000 Quimper
Tél : 02 98 95 21 60 – Fax : 02 98 95 89 69
Site : http://musee-breton.finistere.fr


Horaires d’ouverture

De septembre à juin :
Du mardi au vendredi de 9h30 à 17h30
Le samedi et le dimanche de 14h à 17h30
Fermé le lundi et jours fériés (sauf le 8 mai, 14 juillet et 15 août)
Juillet et août :
Tous les jours de 10h à 19h


Tarifs

Tarifs variables selon les expositions et la nature de l’activité, se renseigner à l’accueil

Plein tarif : 5€ / 7€
Tarif réduit : 3€ / 4€ (groupes à partir de 10 personnes – Passeport Finistère)
Gratuit : – de 26 ans, étudiants, demandeurs d’emploi, situation de handicap
Gratuit le week-end d’octobre à mai
Activités : de 1,50€ à 8€ entrée comprise selon l’activité (visite guidée, atelier, événement…)

EXPOSITION TEMPORAIRE

1jan0 h 00 min- 0 h 00 min