CELEBRATE THE MILLENNIUM OF THE CHURCH OF LOCMARIA!

logo-locmaria-millennium

1,000 years is something to celebrate! In this year 2022, the church of Locmaria celebrates its millennium. On this occasion, we propose a day of discovery of Quimper and of course of this church which has watched over the Locmaria district for 10 centuries now.

Meet with your guide to a guided tour of Saint Corentin Cathedral, a jewel of Breton Gothic art. After 20 years of work, the restoration of Saint Corentin's cathedral allows us to discover all the periods of its construction. You will discover one of the main enigmas of the cathedral's construction: the lack of alignment between the choir and the nave, which raises a number of questions.

Then, still in the company of your guide, you will discover Breton Departmental Museum during a guided tour of the permanent exhibitions. The museum occupies the former Palace of the Bishops of Cornouaille, next to the cathedral, and preserves and reveals some wonderful treasures from the Breton past. Furniture, earthenware, objects of daily life and traditional costumes are also presented. The museum preserves and regularly enriches the most important Breton collection of traditional costumes.

In the early afternoon, meet at Place Saint Corentin (in front of the Breton Departmental Museum and Saint Corentin Cathedral) for a guided tour of the Locmaria district in a small train. Climb aboard the little train, decorated in ceramic style as in the Henriot-Quimper earthenware factory, and cross the old quarters to discover the historic centre of Quimper.

Then, guided tour of the Locmaria district. A primitive place in the town of Quimper, the Locmaria district is today a real artists' workshop: Hand-painted earthenware, haute couture embroidery, crepe lace making....

Your guide will then tell you the secrets of theLocmaria church, l'one of the oldest in the departmentand its magnificent cloister. Founded in the 11th century, it is a testimony to the sobriety of Romanesque art. Inside, you can admire the earthenware Way of the Cross painted in 1860 and classified as a historical monument, or a Polychrome wooden Christ on a rood beam. In the adjacent garden, two arches of the Romanesque cloister can still be seen. The neighbouring priory was built in the 17th century: the main building dates from 1646. In the 18th century, a wing was rebuilt to the south (1756), intended for the prioress' accommodation. After the Revolution, a small building closes the courtyard at the level of the square created on the site of the cemetery.

This visit will be followed by a demonstration of the making of crêpes dentelles on becuwes at the Quimper biscuit factory located in the heart of Locmaria, Quimper's primitive district. At the end of the visit tasting of local specialities Breton cakes, galettes, palets, kouign-amann...

CÉLÉBREZ LE MILLÉNAIRE DE L’ÉGLISE DE LOCMARIA !

logo-millenaire-de-locmaria

1000 ans, ça se fête ! En cette année 2022, l’église de Locmaria célèbre son millénaire. À cette occasion, nous vous proposons une journée à la découverte de Quimper et bien sûr de cette église qui veille sur le quartier de Locmaria depuis maintenant 10 siècles.

Rendez-vous avec votre guide-conférencier pour une visite guidée de la Cathédrale Saint Corentin, joyau de l’art gothique breton. Après 20 ans de travaux, la restauration de la cathédrale saint Corentin permet de découvrir toutes les époques de son édification. Vous découvrirez une des principales énigmes de la construction de la cathédrale : l’absence d’alignement entre le chœur et la nef qui suscite un certain nombre d’interrogations.

Puis, toujours en compagnie de votre guide, vous découvrirez Musée Départemental Breton lors d’une visite guidée des expositions permanentes. Le musée occupe l’ancien Palais des Évêques de Cornouaille, accolé à la cathédrale, il conserve et révèle quelques merveilleux trésors issus du passé breton. Mobilier, faïence, objets de la vie quotidienne et costumes traditionnels y sont également présentés. Le musée conserve et enrichit régulièrement la plus importante collection bretonne de costumes traditionnels.

En début d’après-midi, Rendez-vous Place Saint Corentin (devant le Musée Départemental Breton et la Cathédrale Saint Corentin) pour un circuit commenté en petit train en direction du quartier de Locmaria. Montez à bord du petit train, décoré façon céramique comme à la faïencerie Henriot-Quimper, et traversez les vieux quartiers à la découverte du centre historique de Quimper.

Puis, visite guidée du quartier de Locmaria. Lieu primitif de la ville de Quimper, le quartier de Locmaria est aujourd’hui un véritable atelier d’artistes : Faïences peintes à la main, broderie de haute couture, fabrication de crêpes dentelles….

Votre guide vous contera ensuite les secrets de l’église de Locmaria, l’une des plus anciennes du département, et de son magnifique cloître. Fondée au XIème siècle, elle est un témoignage de la sobriété de l’Art Roman. A l’intérieur, on peut admirer le chemin de croix en faïence peint en 1860 et classé Monument Historique, ou encore un Christ en bois polychrome sur une poutre de gloire. Dans le jardin adjacent, on peut toujours voir deux arcades du cloître roman. Le prieuré voisin a été construit au XVIIème siècle : le bâtiment principal date de 1646. Au XVIIIème siècle, une aile est reconstruite au sud (1756), destinée au logement de la prieure. Après la Révolution, un petit bâtiment ferme la cour au niveau de la place créée à l’emplacement du cimetière.

Cette visite sera suivie par une démonstration de fabrication de crêpes dentelles sur les becuwes à la biscuiterie de Quimper située au cœur de Locmaria, quartier primitif de de Quimper. À l’issue de la visite dégustation de spécialités locales : gâteaux bretons, galettes, palets, du kouign-amann…